Denník N

Ženy vo vede a veda pre všetkých?

Ilustračný obrázok (zdroj: obrázok od Trenta Erwina na https://unsplash.com/.)
Ilustračný obrázok (zdroj: obrázok od Trenta Erwina na https://unsplash.com/.)

Ak ponúkneme ľuďom vedu zrozumiteľnou (občas aj hravou) formou, ona ich sama osloví. Žijemvedu preto pred letom vyhlásila súťaž na podporu a propagáciu vedy s názvom “Ženy vo vede a veda pre všetkých?”. Cieľom bolo v deťoch a mladej generácii podnietiť záujem o vedu a výskum. A chceli sme búrať mantinely stereotypov a prilákať do vedy viac mladých dievčat a chlapcov.

Súťaž bola v štyroch kategóriách: Mládež, Laická verejnosť, Odborníci a Nesúťažná kategória pre deti vo veku do 15. rokov. Stačilo zapojiť fantáziu, svoje vedomosti, súťaživosť a vypracovať zadanie na témy: “Osudové ženy vedy” alebo “Veda okolo nás” (viac info TU).

Do súťaže sme dostali viacero príspevkov (v anglickom jazyku) a časť z nich budeme v nasledujúcich týždňoch so súhlasom autorov zverejňovať. Výsledky súťaže a odovzdanie cien víťazom prebehne na výročnej konferencii Žijem vedu naživo 2019, ktorá sa bude konať v posledný piatok pred Vianocami.

Prvý príspevok od Mateja Faboka bol zaslaný v rámci kategórie Mládež – pre 15- až 20- ročných študentov gymnázií, stredných odborných škôl a učilíšť.

Science around us

Science is a wonderful thing that makes our lives a lot easier. The newer generation wouldn’t even be able to survive one week without the stuff that science gave us.

The internet (yet another creation of science) says that Science is: „A branch of study or systematic knowledge of universal laws, gained through observations and experimentations.“ Well, to simplify it, Science is a collection of every thing that humanity has learned thanks to observing stuff that happens around us. Science is just a name we give to everything that humanity has discovered, but the really important stuff is what makes science science. We can split it into a lot of different categories including: Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy, Biology and so on.

These scientific unions are part of our daily lives and most of the time we don’t even notice them. Take for example Biology. If you are over 40 you can thank biology that you are still within the realm of living. Or maybe History. Without it there wouldn’t be running water in your house. Science is a wonderful thing, but the most important part of it (in my eyes) are unions which deal with technology.

For me science has been a thing which made me believe that everything can be done, if you try hard enough and other people just confirmed my opinion. When I look at science I see things that I need but not what I want. I believe that every person has a child inside them somewhere and that they want to see something that isn’t exactly needed but rather fun. When I first saw Gravitys Jet Suits I was screaming for an hour straight. I hope that people can make more useless stuff that is just for fun and with that I will end this pointless rant about my personal wishes.  Bulldozers, vaccines, engines, trains, lightbulbs… Wherever we go we are surrounded by science. It keeps on progressing forward at an extreme pace. Space travel, Submarines, Virtual reality.

In the past people thought these things were impossible to reach but now we have them and new ideas are starting to appear. For now they seem unreachable, but humanity has done some impossible stuff in the past and I am willing to bet that these ideas won’t stay like that forever. I may not be able to travel to Jupiter in my lifespan but I am happy that I can see science grow and walk with it hand in hand as far as I can.

O autorovi:

Volám sa Matej Fabok, mám 16 rokov a som muž (očividne). Žijem na dedine blízko Trnavy.
Som veľmi priemerný a nemám veľa záľub. Rád kreslím, hrám hry, basketbal a mám rád hru na ukulele.
Chodím na Strednú odbornú školu elektrotechnickú v Trnave a študujem v druhom ročníku odbor mechanik počítačových sietí.

Teraz najčítanejšie